Steak for Dinner

I love a delicious steak for dinner every now and again.  I prefer a USDA Choice Cut of Ribeye, Filet Mignon, T-Bone, or Porterhouse Steak.  Honestly, most of them taste the same, but you can certainly tell the difference between the Choice cuts and a flank steak or a sirloin, all still good, depending on your budget.

I’ve seen some cooks wrap their steak in bacon for more flavoring, but I prefer to cook it plain with only a few seasonings, to really enjoy the cut of beef.

I like to marinade my steaks in a little seasoning and oil or just a vinagrette dressing to make it more tender.  It really doesn’t matter, but it must be marinaded and I like to stay away from adding steak sauces to a good cut of beef, because the beef itself is super tasty.  I always add a little bit of garlic and some pepper for flavoring.  Sometimes I’ll add some red wine as it cooks.

The key to preparing a good steak is the marinade, seasoning, and knowing how you want it to taste; rare, medium-rare, medium, well done, etc.  Some say it’s whether you use Charcoal, Gas, or the Oven and this is in fact true.

I prefer grilling my steak, but the stovetop or the oven works also.  I like to sautee mushrooms with my steak and serve it with Mashed Potatoes and if I’m feeling really adventurous and creative, I might make a brown gravy with the meat drippings.

Any choice of steak is good with a steamed vegetable, mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, and or bread and a salad.  If you have a grill, a steak is most excellent with grilled vegetables like bell peppers, onions, garlic, tomatoes, and even zucchini.

Yummy!

Leave a Reply

